Paul Hyams, image © Cornell Chronicle

Paul R. Hyams Memorial Mentorship Award

The Paul R. Hyams Memorial Mentorship Award was established by the Hyams family in honor of Paul Hyams, longtime friend of the Haskins Society.  Paul was the Annual Conference Director (at Cornell University) from 1998-2003 and Haskins Society President from 2006-2009.  The prize stands in special recognition of Paul’s foundational role in the mentorship of early career and graduate students.  An Oxbridge-educated Jewish Yorkshireman, Paul understood what it meant to be an "outsider."  Perhaps because of this, he was a stalwart supporter of those of us who, through some misadventure, had no mentor or traditional advisor.

The Paul R. Hyams Memorial Mentorship Award is to be conferred annually to an early career researcher or graduate student of particular promise.  The winner of the Hyams Award is paired for the year with a senior mentor in their field of specialty, selected by the council of the Haskins Society.  For the term of the award year, mentor and prize winner will collaborate on the proposed project via in-person meetings (when possible), online interactions, written communication and shared research.



Successful proposals outline a project, or part thereof, of original research that can reasonably be completed in a calendar year.  Examples include the planning or execution of a publication (journal article, book chapter, etc.) or the pursuit of a specific research query through archival work. Proposals are judged on the significance and originality of the proposed project and its contribution to medieval scholarship.  The proposal deadline is January 1st and the prize is awarded in early February.  Successful applicants should be Haskins Society members.  (Please note there are significantly reduced membership rates for graduate students and early career researchers.)


Award Details

The award provides $250 for the successful applicant (or the equivalent in the awardee’s currency of choice).  Mentors selected for the prize are also remunerated in the amount of $250.  The winner of the Paul R. Hyams Memorial Mentorship Award and the selected mentor are announced every year at the Annual Haskins Society Conference in the fall.  The successful applicant will be announced in Society news and communications as well as on the Society's website.  The financial award and further details will be mailed to the winner.


Award Committee

The Paul R. Hyams Memorial Mentorship Award Committee consists of the following Haskins Society officers serving in the award year: the President; the Vice President for North America; the Vice President for Europe; the Vice President for Japan; the Secretary and the Treasurer.


Questions and queries regarding the award can be directed to the VP for North America, Laura Gathagan (

© The Haskins Society
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software